Council of Ministers

The Council of Ministers is the executive body of the UnionState. It consists of the Chairman, the Prime Ministers of Belarus and Russia, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs, Economics and Finance of the member states, the heads of the main sectoral and functional bodies of the UnionState and the State Secretary of the UnionState.

The Chairman of the Council of Ministers is appointed by the Supreme State Council of the UnionState. It can be one of the Prime Ministers of the member states, elected on a rotating basis.

The Council of Ministers, in line with its authority as defined by the present Treaty and the resolutions of the Supreme State Council:

  1. Develops guidelines for general policies on the development of the Union State and submits them to the Supreme State Council;
  2. Submits draft laws and fundamentals of legislation to the Parliament of the Union State;
  3. Monitors the execution of the provisions of the Union Treaty and the acts of the Union State and, if necessary, submits grounded reports to the member states in the case of any nonfulfillment of the obligations resulting from them;
  4. Develops and submits the draft budget of the Union State to the Parliament of the Union State, and ensures its implementation. It also submits annual and biannual national accounts to the Parliament;
  5. Ensures the formation and development of the united free market zone, together with the common financial, tax, credit, monetary, currency, pricing and trade policies;
  6. Facilitates coordinated policies of the member states in foreign affairs, defence, security, safeguarding of the rule of law and the rights and freedoms of citizens, in peacekeeping and crime prevention as well as in culture, science, education, healthcare, public welfare and environmental protection.

The Chairman of the Council of Ministers:

  1. Manages the operation of the Council of Ministers and organises its work;
  2. Submits annual reports on the activity of the Council of Ministers to the Supreme State Council and to the Parliament of the Union State;
  3. Signs the acts of the Council of Ministers;
  4. On behalf of, and within the powers conferred by the Supreme State Council, conducts negotiations and signs international treaties in the name of the Union State.